Elizabeth Banks Becomes The First Female Director To Win The Pioneer Of The Year Award

Elizabeth Banks has etched her name in history as the first female director to win the Pioneer of the Year Award by the Will Rogers Motion Pictures Pioneers Foundation.

The Pioneer of the Year Award is given to a respected member of the motion picture community for their exemplary leadership, service and commitment to philanthropy. Elizabeth Banks will be feted with the honour at the Pioneer of the Year Dinner on September 25, 2019. This annual fundraising event provides financial support and services to individuals in the theatrical entertainment community, who are encountering an illness, injury or a life-changing event. Only a handful of women, including Kathleen Kennedy, Sherry Lansing and Cheryl Boone Isaacs have been named Pioneer of the Year in recent years.

Banks’s is currently directing, producing, co-writing and also co-starring in Charlie’s Angels, which is set to hit the theatres on November 1.  Besides acting and filmmaking, Banks is also an advocate of women and supports a number of charitable organizations.

Leave a Comment:

Your email address will not be published.