Padma Awards 2020: Sushma Swaraj Posthumously Conferred With Padma Vibhushan, MC Mary Kom & Kangana Ranaut Honoured As Well

Sushma Swaraj, George Fernandes, and Arun Jaitley conferred with Padma Vibhushan posthumously, as the Padma Awards were announced on January 25, 2020. Indian boxer MC Mary Kom was also awarded the Padma Vibhushan amongst a total list of 7 people who were conferred with this top civilian honour.

Whereas, 16 people were named in the list for receiving Padma Bhushan, including a posthumous honour for BJP leader Manohar Parrikar, badminton player P.V. Sindhu and businessman Anand Mahindra. The Padma Shri list however saw multiple people from the film and television industry getting the honour – including Kangana Ranaut, Karan Johar, Ekta Kapoor, and Adnan Sami. Cricketer Zaheer Khan was also in the list of Padma Shree awardees that included a total of 118 people.

Kangana Ranaut, after receiving the news, said

I’m humbled and I’m honored. I thank my country for this recognition and I dedicate this to every woman who dares to dream. To every daughter… to every mother… and to the dreams of women who will shape the future of our country.

The awards this year especially have acknowledged social activists like Anil Prakash Joshi (Padma Bhushan), Ms. Usha Chaumar (Padma Shri), Shri M.M Kunjol (Padma Shri), amongst others.

The full list of awardees is here.

Leave a Comment:

Your email address will not be published.