Manpreet Singh Is The First Indian To Win The International Hockey Federation’s ‘Player Of The Year’ Award

The National men’s hockey team captain has become the first Indian to win the International Hockey Federation’s (FIH) Player of the Year award since its introduction in 1999.

Manpreet Singh managed to beat Belgium’s Arthur Van Dorren and Argentina’s Lucas Villa and bagged the honor with 35.2% of combined votes whereas Dorren and Villa secured 19.7% and 16.5% of the combined votes respectively. Manpreet made his debut in the Indian National Hockey Team in 2011 and has played over 260 matches for the team. Besides this, Manpreet had captained the Indian team to victory in the FIH Olympic Qualifiers, where he was able to secure a spot for India at the Tokyo Olympic Games 2020. Also, Manpreet represented India at the 2012 London Olympics and the 2016 Rio Olympics.

Leave a Comment:

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.